ASX Capital Raising Precedents

MI6 Minerals 260 Materials

Share priceMarket capDebtCashNet debtBalance sheetLast equity raiseLast debt deal
A$0.945A$2.03bnA$0.4mA$633mpro forma after the 16 Sept 2026 raise(A$633m)Half-year accounts, 31 Dec 2025A$250m placement, 16 Sept 2026None announced

MI6's recent deals

16 Sept 2026 · $250m Placement Funds Bullabulling Gold Project Development

  • A$250m placement at A$0.88, nil discount to last close and 3.5% premium to 10-day VWAP
  • Proceeds from the placement will underpin the development of the 6.2Moz Bullabulling Gold Project (“Project”), located 65km west of Kalgoorlie in Western Australia.
  • Alongside A$170m royalty funding from Franco-Nevada
  • Cash A$183m before, A$633m pro forma after
  • Led by Canaccord Genuity, Morgans, Bell Potter, Euroz Hartleys, Argonaut, SPP not underwritten
  • Shares 0% against the offer price on day 1

Equity

OptionMaterials deals since 2021MI6, A$250mWhy companies choose it
DealsMedian sizeMedian discountMedian day 1New shares vs existingCompany given away
27A$61m8.2%+2.6%13.4%11.8%
  • Priced and settled in a few days with no prospectus
  • Only institutions and sophisticated investors take part, so retail holders are diluted
  • Would be 13.4% of shares against the 15% limit, but the A$250m placement on 16 Sept 2026 has already used part of this year's capacity
23A$100m10.6%+3.8%13.8%12.1%
  • A placement with a share purchase plan so retail holders can buy up to A$30,000 each at the same price
  • SPP shares do not use the 15% placement limit
  • The SPP amount is only known when it closes and is often scaled back or increased
11A$69m17.1%+6.7%14.8%12.9%
  • Every holder can buy new shares in proportion to their holding, so those who take up keep their stake
  • Not limited by the 15% cap, so it suits raises that are large against market cap
  • Takes three to four weeks with the retail offer and usually needs a deeper discount and an underwriter

Debt

OptionMaterials deals since 2021MI6, A$250mWhy companies choose it
DealsMedian sizeMedian rateInterest a yearNet debt after
32A$250mnot disclosed–(A$383m)
  • No new shares issued
  • Needs cash flow or a project that can carry interest and repayments, and comes with covenants
  • Net debt would move to net cash of A$383m
22A$919m6.81%A$17m(A$383m)
  • Fixed rate for five to ten years, usually A$300m or more and often in US dollars
  • Lighter covenants than bank debt but a higher rate, and investors look for a credit history or rating
  • About A$17m of interest a year at the median rate
3A$65mnot disclosed–
  • Lower coupon than straight debt because holders can convert into shares at a premium
  • Shares are only issued if the price rises past the conversion price
  • Suits companies with volatile share prices and strong investor demand

All deals

DateCompanyOptionSize% of mkt capDiscount / rateDay 1Net debt beforeBanks and brokers
14 Aug 2026CYL Catalyst MetalsCatalyst increases its corporate credit facility to A$200mLoan facilityA$200m––––NAB, Westpac +2
3 Aug 2026ELV Elevra LithiumIssuance of Upfront Tranche of Convertible NotesConvertibleA$65m4.5%––––
27 July 2026LYC Lynas Rare EarthsLynas and LS Eco Energy Convertible Cross SubscriptionConvertible––––(A$871m)–
1 June 2026GGP Greatland ResourcesExecution of Corporate Debt Facilities and Havieron ApprovalLoan facilityA$500m–––(A$543m)–
13 May 2026ELV Elevra LithiumSuccessful Completion of A$275M Institutional PlacementPlacement + SPPA$275m11.8%11.2%+4%–UBS, Canaccord Genuity
28 Apr 2026NIC Nickel IndustriesNew US$450m Loan FacilitiesLoan facilityA$626m14.2%––––
21 Apr 2026MIN Mineral ResourcesMIN prices US$1.3 Billion Senior Unsecured Notes OfferingBond / notesA$1.81bn–6%–––
14 Apr 2026PLS Pls GroupProposed offering of up to US$500M Senior Unsecured NotesBond / notesA$845m4.9%6.88%–(A$292m)–
30 Mar 2026ALK Alkane ResourcesALKANE EXECUTES $110 MILLION REVOLVING CREDIT FACILITYLoan facilityA$110m13.1%–––ANZ, CBA +2
5 Feb 2026CIA Champion IronCompletes US$100m placement of subscription receiptsPlacement––––––
24 Dec 2025KCN Kingsgate ConsolidatedNew Standby Loan Facility ExecutedLoan facilityA$37m–––A$53m–
23 Dec 2025PRU Perseus MiningCorrected - Refinance and Upsize of Debt FacilityLoan facilityA$601m7.7%–––Citi, J.P. Morgan +1
4 Dec 2025VUL Vulcan Energy ResourcesSucessful Completion of Institutional Placement and EOEntitlement offer––34.7%+2.5%–Morgan Stanley, Canaccord Genuity
24 Oct 2025PRN PerentiExpanded A$650 million Syndicated Debt FacilityLoan facilityA$650m25.3%––A$305m–
25 Sept 2025NIC Nickel IndustriesUS$800 Million Senior Unsecured Notes IssuedBond / notesA$1.21bn39.6%9%–––

Notes